Zakat Donation

Make a Lasting Impact this Ramadan by donating your Zakat to be distributed to the needy and poor people in Africa (Ghana, Nigeria and Niger).

Pay your Zakat and get Rewarded in Akhirah

$3,173 of $5,000 raised

Custom Amount

Plus an additional to cover gateway fees.
Select Payment Method
Personal Info

Donation Total: $1

What is Zakat?

Zakat, or almsgiving, is one of the five pillars of Islam, along with prayer, fasting, pilgrimage (Hajj) and belief in Allah (SWT) and His Messenger, Prophet Muhammad (SAW). For every sane, adult Muslim who owns wealth over a certain amount – known as the nisab – he or she must pay 2.5% of that wealth as Zakat.

“…and those in whose wealth there is a recognised right, for the needy and deprived” (Qur’an 70:24-5)

What is Nisab?

The nisab is the minimum amount of wealth a Muslim must possess before they become eligible to pay Zakat. This amount is often referred to as the nisab threshold.

Gold and silver are the two values used to calculate the nisab threshold. The nisab is the value of 87.48 grams of gold or 612.36 grams of silver.

Nisab Value (as of 08/03/2021):

Using value of silver (612.36 grams) – approximately $384.82
Using value of gold (87.48 grams) – approximately $4861.26


Zakat is not just a fundamental pillar of Islam. It is also a revolutionary concept with the potential to ease the suffering of millions around the world.

Last year alone, your donations impacted 1000's of lives

Your Zakat has funded some of our crucial work with people and communities living in deplorable conditions in Ghana, Nigeria, and Niger.

Your generosity has enabled communities to build sustainable livelihoods and enabled better lives for vulnerable orphans and families across the globe.

Alhamdulillah, you have the power to transform people’s lives.

Zakat Faqs

Zakat is one of the five pillars of Islam. It is a compulsory donation to charity by all Muslims who reach the minimum threshold for payment.

Zakat is 2.5% of your total wealth. Therefore if you have £10,000 of wealth liable to Zakat, you would pay £250.

There are eight categories of people who are eligible to receive Zakat:

  1. The poor
  2. The needy
  3. Administrators of Zakat
  4. Those whose hearts have been recently reconciled
  5. Those who have been enslaved
  6. Those in debt
  7. In the cause of God
  8. Travellers (including refugees)

No, zakat is only prescribed for Muslims.

How Islamic Ummmah Relief spends Zakat

Islamic Ummah Relief spends Zakat funds on the poor and needy in the form of food, shelter,clothings, clean water, education.

We currently give Zakat funds to Muslims only. But this is under review.

We maintain a 100% zakat policy

© Copyrights 2021 Islamic Ummah Reliefis a registered US 501(c)(3) Non-profit organization